Dooba Reviews http://doobareviews.com Wed, 23 Jul 2014 17:50:32 +0000 en-US hourly 1 Should you get the JumpSport 250 Rebounder? http://doobareviews.com/jumpsport-250-rebounder-review/ http://doobareviews.com/jumpsport-250-rebounder-review/#comments Mon, 21 Jul 2014 13:02:02 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1410 jumpsport-250-diameterThe JumpSport 250 is the new more economical Fitness Trampoline.

We have a JumpSport 350 and I’ll talk about the differences, but

First off, what makes a JumpSport so special?

A little background

One of the real advantages of the JumpSport Rebounders is that they are quiet. Other rebounders (like the popular Cellerciser) have metal springs that are noisy when jumping.

The JumpSport is virtually silent given that it doesn’t use metal springs.

A quiet rebounder means that you can listen to an audiobook, the television, etc. while rebounding and not miss a thing.

Each JumpSport has this advantage compared to other Rebounders.

The Scoop on the JumpSport 250

The JumpSport 250 is very similar to the other non-folding JumpSport models.

The JumpSport models 350 and above can take more strenuous work.

For example, the 350 model sports the EnduroLast 3 cords which are tested to over 4 million bounces.

The 250 has EnduroLast 2 elastic cords which are tested to over 2 million bounces.

The warranties are also slightly different favoring the 350 model.

The warranty for the 350 is as stated on Amazon:

  • Steel Frame & Legs: Lifetime
  • Mat: 5 years
  • EnduroLast 3 Elastic Cords: 3 Years
  • All other components: 1 year

The warranty for the 250 is:

  • Steel Frame & Legs: Lifetime
  • Mat: 5 years
  • EnduroLast 2 Elastic Cords: 2 Years
  • All other components: 1 year

So it sounds like the 350 rebounder is the one you’d want to select right?

Well, hold on there, we need to consider…

The JumpSport 250 is a lot Less Expensive than the Other Models

The 250 is the most economical of the models.

It clocks in between $50-100 cheaper than the other models.

The 250 is a great buy if you’re not going to go ballistic on it.

It’s still made to last, the 350 and pro models are just built to last longer and be used in professional environments.

The 250 is one of the best options if money is tight. We searched high and low for the best options in rebounders, and we landed on the JumpSport. The health benefit can well outweigh the cost, and we’ve found ourselves using our JumpSport a lot.

Why Rebound Anyway?

One of the main reasons we got a JumpSport rebounder was for the detox benefits.

How does it detox?

It does so by stimulating the lymphatic system. The lymphatic system is a network similar to your blood vessels except for its what helps clean up cell waste. It’s a crucial system to have.

The problem is that unlike the circulatory system, the lymphatic system has no pump.

The way fluid moves through it is through exercise and movement.

In an ever increasingly sedentary lifestyle, we’re backing up the lymphatic system, and that’s not good.

Rebounding is one of the best ways to get the lymph system moving.

You may even be able to feel the draining from the lymph in your neck and sinuses as you rebound.

It’s been a pretty good sinus reliever for us.

Aside from that great benefit, rebounding exercises the whole body as the entire body is moving down under gravity and then releasing that tension at the top of a bounce.

It’s great for core strengthening, easier on the joints than other exercises, and can get your heart moving!

The tension on the 250 can be adjusted like the other JumpSport models, and it’s much sturdier than the cheap brands than can cause pronation and even wobble. JumpSports unique foot design is perfect for stability.

What are customers saying about the JumpSport 250?

Here’s a few samples of what customers on Amazon have said about the 250. Currently it’s got an impressive 5 star average rating (You’ll have to read the full review about the puppy).

Very happy with this purchase, and very glad I bought a puppy, because otherwise I would have spent more than I needed to on a rebounder.

I recently introduced my personal training team at Harvard University Recreation to the JumpSport trampolines during a training meeting. Initially, the trainers had a lot of fun just playing and creating exercises. But before too long, they realized what a great workout they could get (and give!) on the trampoline. We were all impressed by the solid construction.

If you’re rich get the bella. But if up and down is what you are after and you want a smooth and stable jump get this tramp..

Love this…had one of the cheaper models for at least 5 yrs. spring broke decided on the 250 model…it is much bouncier and better on my knees. I would and have told my friends about the 250.

Getting the JumpSport 250

Bellicon and Cellerciser are the other top brands we considered when purchasing a rebounder for our home.

However, the Bellicons were well above and beyond a reasonable price, and the metal springs of the Cellerciser were just too stiff for our use. The JumpSport fits the bill perfectly, and it’s perfectly quiet.

You can find the JumpSport 250 on Amazon. It’s got a 5 star average rating. Check it out below.

JumpSport 250

JumpSport Fitness Trampoline 250

Read what others are saying about the JumpSport Rebounder 250 on Amazon.

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/jumpsport-250-rebounder-review/feed/ 0
Cellerciser Half-Fold vs Tri-Fold. Choose Carefully. http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-tri-fold/ http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-tri-fold/#comments Sat, 19 Jul 2014 13:46:04 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1389 Cellerciser OptionsCellerciser offers some great options in their rebounders.

Of their selection, our favorite is the Half Fold Cellerciser.

But it could be that the Tri Fold is a better option for you.

So which Cellerciser should you choose?

Both the Half Fold and the Tri-fold are made from the same top of the line materials.

The difference comes down to portability and price.

Tri Fold Advantages

The Tri Fold can fold three ways making it more compact.

It’s the perfect solution if you want to take your Cellerciser with you when you travel.

The Tri Fold comes with a travel case that sports a pull handle and wheels!

It wins hands down for portability and storages. It folds up tighter and more compact than the Half Fold.

But there’s something else to consider…

Half Fold Advantages

half-fold-cellerciser

Half Folds

The Half Fold has the ability to fold in half.

It comes with a carry bag but it’s simply a bag compared to the travel case the Tri Fold has.

The legs collapse in and the rebounder area folds down.

It’s very convenient for easy storage under a bed or in the trunk of a car when traveling. We’ve put our JumpSport in the car, and it takes up a lot of space because it doesn’t fold.

The major benefit of the Half Fold compared to the Tri-fold is the price. You may pay 1.5 to 2 times the price with a Tri Fold compared to the Half Fold.

Which Celleciser is the Best?

If you want to travel a lot with your Cellerciser, then the Tri Fold is definitely the preferred choice, but it is pricier.

If the moderate portability is important, and you want to be price conscious, then the Half Fold is the popular choice.

cellercise-tri-fold-case

Cellerciser Family

Either way, you’ve got a great rebounder there. For more information, read our review of the Half Fold Cellerciser.

 

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-tri-fold/feed/ 0
Is the Cellerciser Rebounder Half Fold worth it? http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-review/ http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-review/#comments Fri, 18 Jul 2014 13:31:51 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1391 cellercise-david-hall

Why choose the Cellerciser Half Fold Rebounder?

There are lots of rebounders to compare.

The Cellerciser has a few advantages over the Bellicon and JumpSport brands.

Either way you choose, these three brands: Cellerciser, Bellicon, and JumpSport are the top picks.

But here are few things to consider why a Cellerciser Half Fold is right for you…

Cellerciser Half Fold is Convenient

First off, the quality of Cellerciser is top notch, but above and beyond the quality, there’s also the convenience.

The Cellerciser Half Fold…folds in half!

It’s convenient for storage. We personally own a JumpSport, but one of the drawbacks is that it doesn’t store well. It can be stored vertically, but the feet take up a lot of room.

The Half Fold by Cellerciser can fold up and be stored under a bed, or in a closet when you’re done using it. It’s quite tempting if you don’t want to store it out all the time.

Being able to fold it up can also make it easier if you’re wanting to take it to the living room to jump while you watch TV, then fold it up and take it to it’s regular storage location.

Carrying other rebounders up and down the stairs might be good exercise, but a little unwieldy trying to navigate around the legs. So the folding Cellercise makes a lot of sense in that regard.

The Half Fold offers Great Support

Pronation can be an issue with any rebounder. You don’t want the mat too be so stretchy that it causes your ankles and feet to bend in while you jump. That’s just asking for injury there.

The other top brands, JumpSport and Bellicon have great mats on their rebounders, but if you’re looking for something very firm, the Cellerciser is a great choice.

Watch David Hall, the creator talks about why Cellerciser has the best support in a quick video:

Now, a JumpSport and Bellicon can be adjusted to the firmness you desire, but the Cellerciser offers great firmness and because of the tiered spring system, it “adjusts” to your weight to offer great support.

Health Benefits of Rebounding with a Cellerciser

With a great rebounder, you’re going to gain some fantastic health benefits.

To gain results you’ve always wanted, you’ve got to exercise your whole body, but an elliptical, row machine, cycler, or treadmill just won’t do it. They exerciser only specific groups of muscles.

From the Cellerciser website:

Cellercise is the ultimate exercise as it flexes ALL 75 TRILLION CELLS at the same time! Even better, it requires only 10 minutes a day!

More on the Cellerciser Benefits.

What happens when you jump using a rebounder is that it increases gravitational force on all the cells in your body at the bottom of a jump. At the top of a jump, all that force is released.

You’re getting an up and down tension and release not just of your muscles, but of all the cells in your body.

Here’s one of my favorite vids that show some amazing benefits of the Cellerciser.

It’s a test to see strength and balance before using and after using a Cellerciser for the first time. Pretty awesome.

It’s an exercise for the whole body, not just a part of it, and you can get a really good workout on a rebounder in just 10 minutes.

What does the Half Fold Cellerciser Include, and should you get the Tri-fold?

cellercise-tri-fold-caseThe Tri-Fold is a more expensive model of the Cellerciser that folds smaller than the Half Fold. If you really want to not leave your Cellerciser home when you travel, the Tri-Fold is a great option.

It’s made to the same standards as all Cellerciser equipment, it just folds smaller and has wheels on the bottom of it’s case (vs. the carry bag of the Half Fold Cellerciser). The drawback of the Tri-fold is that it’s 1.5 times more expensive than the Half Fold.

But, if portability is what you need, you can check out the Tri-fold on Amazon.

The Half Fold however fits that perfect sweet spot – portability and price.

The set includes:

  • The Half Fold Cellerciser
  • Rebounder video and book
  • Exercise Chart, Intro Kit
  • Carrying Bag

Here’s what reviewers are saying about the Half Fold

I was reluctant to spend this much money on exercise equipment, but this is worth every cent. I have been using this for just under two weeks and already notice a difference in my muscle tone, energy, and overall well-being.

my previous rebounder was a cheapie Walmart springed contraption that could barely be called a “bouncer”.
in contrast this thing is like a cadillac. I never feel like I’m bottoming out or jarring myself at the bottom of the bounce.

The reviews come in at 4.5 out of 5 stars which is a really good rating for exercise equipment. It’s a testimony to the fact people love what the Half-Fold can do for them.

What about the price?

Quality shines through with the Half Fold, and that’s why Cellerciser is able to offer it at around $360-370 and customers are happy with the purchase because it’s built to last and built to help and not hurt your body.

Amazon is a great place to purchase it because of their A to Z Guarantee for buyer purchases which means they want to make you happy with your purchase. As of right now, shipping is free.

half-fold-cellerciser

Half Fold Cellercisers in Action

You can check out more reviews and purchase the Half Fold Cellerciser Kit on Amazon.

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-half-fold-review/feed/ 0
Cellerciser Workouts – Best Rebounding Workouts http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-rebounder-workouts/ http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-rebounder-workouts/#comments Thu, 17 Jul 2014 19:06:19 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1393 cellerciser rebounder exerciseWho loves love handles?

David Hall shows how the Cellerciser can help exercise, tone, and eliminate those love handles.

A rebounder is so much more than just a mini-trampoline, it’s an exercise station that offers so many more possibilities than just an isolating exercise machine (Treadmill, Eliptical, row machine).

The range of exercises is almost limitless.

New to rebounding?

Here’s a short minute intro with David explaining what rebounding can do for you:

Rebounding Exercises on the Cellerciser

Sit back and relax, or get on your rebounder and join in!

Watch how David Hall of Cellerciser Fame shows you what you can do on your rebounder.

One of my favorites is the twist. It shows that rebounding can start out easy and then progress to more complex exercises. The possibilities really are astounding.

Different exercises include:

  • The warm up
  • Aerobics
  • Loosening up up the lower back.
  • Calisthenics
  • Ab Toning
  • Digestive enhancement
  • Detox
  • Cellulite Targeting
  • Improved Balance

If you don’t have a rebounder, you should seriously consider one.  We’ve had our rebounder for a number of years and have really enjoyed it.

Cellerciser is a fantastic brand, and you almost can’t go wrong with one.

One of the benefits is that Cellerciser offers folding rebounders which are great for storage or travel.

For our needs, we purchased a JumpSport Rebounder (see the comparison here).

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/cellerciser-rebounder-workouts/feed/ 0
p90 vs p90x vs p90x3 – What’s the Difference? http://doobareviews.com/p90-vs-p90x-vs-p90x3/ http://doobareviews.com/p90-vs-p90x-vs-p90x3/#comments Thu, 10 Jul 2014 13:30:54 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1332 Power 90 with Tony HortonI was scared.

I was scared to get P90x. I thought it would be too much for me.

I had done a little Tae Bo and had exercised at the gym (not very regularly), and I really wanted something to get into shape.

I asked a friend, and he said how hard P90x was, so I decided to start with P90 or Power 90.

Looking back, I should have just started with P90x taking it slow at first, and then ramping up. Having done P90, P90x, Some of P90x2, and all of P90X3, I can say that P90X3 is my favorite, but the other workouts have their benefits as well.

Here’s a quick Run Down of P90 vs P90x vs P90x3…

Power 90

  • 2 Discs
  • 7 Workouts
  • Quite a bit of punching and kicking the air. Again, it’s great for starters.
  • The warmup, cool down period is quite lengthy in each video compared to the newer versions. If you want easier startup, this could work for you.
  • Sectional progression to help you ease into the workouts.
  • Drawbacks: After 90 days, you have the 7 workouts memorized.
  • Who’s it for: Never exercised before and want to ease into the P90x world

Power 90 Workouts Include

  • Sculpt Circuit 1–2  – 29 minutes
  • Sweat Cardio 1–2  - 36 minutes
  • Sculpt Circuit 3–4  - 38 minutes
  • Sweat Cardio 3–4  - 42 minutes
  • Ab Ripper 100   - 4 minutes
  • Ab Ripper 200  -  6 minutes
  • Fat Burning Express   - 35 minutes

Power 90 is no walk in the park, but compared to P90x and up, it’s the baby steps.

Over 230 reviews on Amazon. Find out more about Tony Horton’s POWER 90 DVD Workout

P90X – The Mother Workout

P90x DVDOh yes, here’s where the meat is. Although the latest incarnation (P90X3) is quite the workout, P90X holds its own very, very well.

The big difference here is that the P90X workouts are much longer than the Power 90 or the P90X3 workouts.

P90x is such a great workout regime.

You can use the App, to help monitor and record your progress.

The routines cover a more more dynamic range than Power 90.

The great thing is that you can go at your own pace.

At the beginning, you might not be able to do as many reps as the guys on the screen, but eventually, you can.

Here’s the P90x workouts:

  • Chest & Back
  • Plyometrics
  • Shoulders & Arms
  • Yoga X
  • Legs & Back
  • Kenpo X
  • X Stretch
  • Core Synergistics
  • Chest, Shoulders, & Triceps
  • Back & Biceps
  • Cardio X
  • Ab Ripper X

Workout time, you’re looking from around 40 minutes to 90 minutes (that’s the Yoga workout…went a little overboard there).

So comparing to Power 90, P90x is such a jump forward in terms of variety, difficulty, and completeness of the workout.

loved participating in the P90x exercise routine and made it all the way to the finish line. It was tough, but worth it.

You’ll definitely want the exercise bands and possibly even a pull-up bar (I broke down and got a pull-up bar and noticed a substantial difference in results).

P90x has over 1800 reviews on Amazon! Check it out if you’re interested P90X DVD Workout – Base Kit

However, for a lot of people,  if the on average 55 minute workouts plus the Ab Ripper routine are a little too much, then the next option, might just be for you.

P90x3 Workout – 30 Minutes of Sheer Awesome

p90x3 Ultimate Workout Kit

The best thing about P90X3 is that it takes all the lessons from Power 90, P90x, P90x+, P90x2, and rolls them up into a jam packed 30 minute rocket ride to fitness.

Yeah!

I love P90x3 because it’s just 30 minutes. The warm up and cool down times are short and the workout gets right into it.

But the warm up and cool down is better. The science has advanced, experience has advanced, and so you’re not just doing the same old stretches, there’s new stuff that helps to activate the muscles “more better.”

There’s also less down time explaining things. You catch on quick, and jump right in.

Is P90X3 easier?

No, it’s just shorter, more compact. The routines have been refined, and with the variety of workouts, I didn’t find myself getting tired of any particular workouts.

Here’s what’s in P90x3:

Resistance Workouts

  • Total Synergistics
  • The Challenge
  • Incinerator
  • The Warrior
  • Eccentric Upper
  • Eccentric Lower

Power Workouts

  • Agility X
  • Triometrics
  • Decelerator

Cardio Workouts

  • CVX
  • MMX
  • Accelerator

Core, Flexibility and Balance Workouts

  • X3 Yoga
  • Pilates X
  • Isometrix
  • Dynamix

The workouts are lively and fast paced. There’s also an Elite Block that you can buy separately that includes X3 Ab Ripper, Complex Upper and Complex Lower.

If you get the P90x3 Deluxe or Ultimate Kit, the Elite Block DVD is included.

I got the Base Kit and purchased the Elite Block separately.

The Deluxe and Ultimate kits are needed if you need resistance bands or a pull-up bar (highly recommended by the way.

You can read my more in-depth review of P90x3 here.

So which should you get?

If you have the time. P90x is a great way to start, and then after the 90 days, give P90x3 a shot.

If time is a concern, jump right into P90x3, you don’t have to have completed the other workouts, and you can get started right away with P90x3.

Good luck, and get ready to “Bring it!”

p90x3 Base Workout Kit

Free Shipping on Tony Horton’s P90X3 Base Kit – DVD Workout on Amazon

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/p90-vs-p90x-vs-p90x3/feed/ 0
Is the P90X3 AB Ripper worth it? http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-ab-ripper/ http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-ab-ripper/#comments Thu, 10 Jul 2014 02:34:12 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1376 p90x3 elite block with Ab RipperWe bought the P90X3 Base Kit which did not include the X3 Ab Ripper workout. 

It was a bit of a shock.

Why didn’t they include the Ab Ripper in the basic set?

We felt a little ripped off to tell you the truth. It seemed like it was a ploy to just get you to buy the Ultimate or Deluxe Kit which cost more of course (see our review of the P90X3).

Why you don’t need the P90X3 Elite Block with Ab Ripper

I found that P90X3 actually worked out my abs quite well.

Ab exercises are built into the entire P90X3 program.

You’ll feel your abs getting worked.

The other two workouts on the Elite Block DVD (Complex Lower and Complex Upper) are really just bonus workouts. They don’t ad much and are repetitive within the workout.

However…

Why you need the P90X3 Elite Block with Ab Ripper X3

Our Base Kit didn’t include the Elite Block DVD, but after completing P90X3, I decided to get the DVD.

Yes, P90X3 works the abs throughout the exercises, but I wanted a concentrated effort on the Abs, and bought the Elite Block as a stand alone Disc.

I’m glad I got the Ab workout.

The X3 Ab Ripper is very different from the previous P90x incarnations.

There’s far less crunching which is great, because that can place a lot of strain on the lower back.

Various new exercises, many that will have you groaning with difficulty the first time you try them will work not just your abs, but your core as well.

X3 Ab Ripper Exercises:

  • Tin Man Windmill
  • Dolphin Hops (You’ll love this)
  • C-Y reach
  • Sphinx Crunch Hold (You’ll hate this)
  • 5 Way Abrinome
  • Hip Drop Twist
  • Bridge Burners
  • Speed Bike

The only one I was disappointed with was the speed bike. I guess it’s alright to include one “oldie” in the mix, but they do offer a twist on the exercise.

I wanted the complete workout.

The final DVD completed the base kit. So if you’re P90X3, adding the Ab ripper is worth it.

If you’re deciding between kits. The Deluxe Kit or Ultimate already includes the P90X3.

Yes, it’s a sneaky way to get you to buy the more expensive kit, or you can get the Base Kit and Buy the Elite Block with Ab Ripper and still save quite a bit compared to the other kits.

Here’s where you can get the Elite Block on Amazon.

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-ab-ripper/feed/ 0
P90x3 vs P90x – Don’t buy either without Knowing the Difference! http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-vs-p90x/ http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-vs-p90x/#comments Wed, 02 Jul 2014 13:28:11 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1328 p90x3 Ultimate Workout KitWhat’s the difference between P90X and P90X3?

P90X is an ultra-powerful workout video regime.

P90X3 is the latest version (as of this writing). Each has strengths and weaknesses, but one just might fit your tastes better than the other.

P90X Strengths compared to P90X3

Warm Up and Cool Down

P90X workouts have a longer warmup and cool down compared to P90X3.

If you want/need more time to get going, then P90X could be a good fit.

However, P90X3 has a “Cold Start” workout that you can choose to use before each workout.

So, it comes down to if you think you’ll need a good long warm up specific to each workout, then P90X is a winner on this one. If you feel a faster warmup and cool down would work for you, then P90X3 is the winner.

Having done both, I prefer the way that P90X3 does it. It gets you into the workout a lot faster.

Workout Time Commitment

P90X workouts can last between an hour and an hour and 40 minutes (hello, Yoga)! That’s a long time. The benefit is that you get a variety of moves, and the workouts are paced a little (just a little) slower than P90X3.

The magic of P90X3 is that each workout is only 30 minutes long.

At first, I thought the P90X3 workouts would be watered down–an easier version of P90X3, but that is not the case at all.

P90X3 is a better overall workout. It’s paced very fast which may be a drawback for some. Both workouts are challenging. P90X3 just takes out a lot of the down time, transitions and slower instructional parts.

A lot of people like simplification and streamlining, and that’s what P90X3 does. For this one, P90X3 is the winner.

Workout Variety

You might think that P90X has more variety than P90X3 because P90X has longer workouts, but that’s not the case.

P90X3 has a wider variety of workouts.

There are more DVD’s to cycle through, so the routines don’t become…um…routine?

If you can’t tell, P90X3 is seeming like a favorite here, but there is something to be said for P90X…

Ab Workout

P90X includes an awesome ab workout.

P90X3 Base Kit (Which is the most popular kit), doesn’t include a separate ab workout! You need the Deluxe or Ultimate kits to get that.

It’s a bummer for sure.

However, P90X3 Base Kit has such a variety of workouts that the abs really do get worked out even better than the P90X workouts (with an exception of course for the ab workout and the yoga 7).

So, be aware if you want super toning of your abs, to get the Deluxe or Ultimate P90X3 kit or get P90X.

If you could only choose one in the P90x Series…

…Go for P90X3

p90x3 Base Workout KitThe reason is simple. Tony has refined, improved and polished his incredible workout routine over years of work, re-work, testing, and data.

The latest workouts will have the best knowledge applied as to the best stretches, stretch time, workout routines and technique.

In P90X3, you hear Tony talk about new ways (new at least to me) to help increase muscle strength faster than ever before.

New research, discoveries and plain old field work help fuel the improvements to Tony’s workouts.

If you’re still not sure, checkout my review of P90X3.

You can also see what people are saying on Amazon (over 320 reviews and 4.5 out of 5 star rating ain’t too shabby).

Check out  Tony Horton’s P90X3 on Amazon.com

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-vs-p90x/feed/ 0
Review: Tony Horton’s P90X3 http://doobareviews.com/review-tony-horton-p90x3/ http://doobareviews.com/review-tony-horton-p90x3/#comments Tue, 01 Jul 2014 13:10:20 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1330 p90x3 Base Workout KitSo what’s the secret behind the ever-popular P90X?

The secret is simple – Get the body you want in only 90 days. It’s a time limit in other words.

The secret to the P90X3 success is the other time limit – Only 30 minutes.

It’s the 30 minute time limit on the workouts in P90X3 that has so many people excited they’re bowling over each other trying to buy it. Okay, maybe a little exaggeration there, but you get the picture.

I’ve been punching air and chatarangering (it’s a yoga thing) with Tony Horton since Power90, and I have to say that P90X3 is my favorite exercise package that Tony has released.

Let’s get down to the nitty-gritty:

Advantages:

The Workouts Start Fast

Tons of time is saved by making the warm up fast.

If you’re really starting on a January morning and it’s 2 below outside and you’re in your garage, then use the Cold Start option at the beginning of each DVD.

Otherwise, you’re off to a quick start with P90X3 which is a big improvement over other and even past P90X workouts.

Down Time is Minimized

The workouts pack a punch and break times are reduced. You’re break is when the workout is done.

That’s not to say it’s 30 minutes of 100%, because that’s not good for you.

The workouts do it right by giving a good sense of interval training. You switch muscle groups by switching exercises.

A change is as good as a break.

I love the various workouts in P90X3. Each one is a separate 30 minute workout:

Resistance Workouts

  • Total Synergistics
  • The Challenge
  • Incinerator
  • The Warrior
  • Eccentric Upper
  • Eccentric Lower

Power Workouts

  • Agility X
  • Triometrics
  • Decelerator

Cardio Workouts

  • CVX
  • MMX
  • Accelerator

Core, Flexibility & Balance Workouts

  • X3 Yoga
  • Pilates X
  • Isometrix
  • Dynamix

That’s a lot more variety than good ol’ P90 and still a lot more variety than P90x. Hello, Pilates, Isometrix and Dynamix to name a few.

With the P90x, P90X3 opens up a whole new world (queue song) of possibilities.

I had an injury (not p90x related, I stubbed and broke 3, yes 3 toes in two different instances), and I made use of the P90X3 variety of workouts during my “recovery” time.

The Secret Sauce, Only 30 Minutes per Workout

P90X and P90X2 workouts were awesome, I loved them, and I plan to go back to some original P90X workouts for the jokes (I mean the added variety since I still have my P90X DVDs.)

However, the secret sauce of P90X3 is really that the workouts are fast. There are a couple of minutes of cool down after the 30 minutes FYI, and it’s a welcomed couple of minutes.

You might think, but yeah, you don’t get as good of a workout, well, you can judge for yourself, but I’ve felt that the difficulty and cardio benefits of P90X3 outmatch the previous workout regimes. You really feel it with P90X3 because the intensity it turned out, the down time is turned down, and the movements have been refined.

Yoga, while great in P90X, was super long. In P90X3, it’s packed in thirty minutes.

Tony has had a lot of time to refine, refine, refine these workouts, and P90X3 is the culmination of those efforts.

Drawbacks of P90X3

Now, there are a couple drawbacks of P90X3.

Ab Workout

The base kit doesn’t come with an ab routine.

Yep, you heard that right. The base P90X3 kit does not include an ab routine (notice routine vs workout).

Your abs do get worked as part of the whole fitness regime of P90X3.

p90x3 Deluxe Workout Kit

P90X3 Deluxe Workout Kit

But if you want the separate ab workout, you have to buy the Deluxe or Ultimate kits.

Complex Upper, Complex Lower and X3 Ab Ripper Workouts are three workouts that come with the Deluxe and Ultimate kits.

You can buy the Elite Block (as it is called) separate, but if you need the equipment and options of the Deluxe or Ultimate kits, buy it together.

I got the P90X3 Base Kit, and have loved it. My wife bought it for me (a sweet gift bytheway).

I later bought the separate Ab Ripper workout, and love it.

Here are your options. Get the Base Kit, and Just Buy the Elite Block with Ab Ripper Disc to go a long with it. This works great if you don’t need the equipment that comes with the other two kits.

If you need the equipment, then it makes much more sense to get the Ultimate or Deluxe kits which include the Ab Ripper workout disc.

You can get the Ab Ripper as part of the Deluxe kit, or if you need the equipment too, go with the Ultimate.

Which brings us to…

Equipment Needs

Yes you do need some equipment.

I tried doing P90X with just the exercise bands, but you really want a pull-up bar for maximum results.

Base Kit: Comes with not equipment (and doesn’t have the Ab Ripper)

Deluxe Kit: Comes with Ab Ripper and Exercise bands that can double as weights/pull-up)

Ultimate Kit: Comes with everything in the Deluxe kit plus the pull-up bar (and other goodies). Everything you need in one package.

I already owned a pull-up bar, so I didn’t need the Ultimate Kit, but if you don’t have a pull-up bar, I highly recommend getting one whether with the Ultimate Kit or separately.

Is the extra equipment required? Absolutely not. But I decided to get a pull-up bar and saw tons better results.

The pull-up bar locks into a standard-sized door frame. You do your pull-ups and then easily take it down. It’s not a permanent fixture.

Workout Rotation

The last drawback is not really a drawback, but it bears mentioning.

With such good variety in the workouts, you may find one that you really like, but it’s only repeated for a few weeks to make room for the other workouts. So if there’s one or two workouts that you’d like to do more often, modify your schedule or double up one day every once and a while. For example, CVX doesn’t go past week 8.

So if you find one you really like, don’t be a afraid to modify the schedule to fit your needs.

P90x3 vs …

A gym membership?

Tried that, didn’t work. P90X3 is easy to get into the habit.

It’s just 30 minutes a day. There’s no commute to the gym on a cold morning.

There’s no waiting around for an exercise machine.

Other Workout Regimes?

Tony is fifty-five in P90X3. Yep that’s right, 55 years old.

Is Tony too old to be an effective instructor?

Are you kidding?

As Tony says, aging is for those who do not know better. Even in his fifties, Tony looks great.

His energy is high, and his mind is sharp. His workouts have stood the test of time as shown by the man himself. I’d rather have someone like Tony who’s been doing the real deal and keeping the results.

He’s also refined the workouts and added the newest techniques. You know he’s tried out what works and what doesn’t and has presented you with the very best.

No time, or haven’t worked out in years?

P90X3 is the best workout routine of the P90X series hands down.

It’s only 30 minutes which makes it snap to fit into any schedule.

You can follow at your own pace, and work your way up in terms of reps, sets, or depth of stretches. Having done the earlier workouts, p90x3 is the best set, and most challenging set of the workouts. Intensity, my friends. You put into it…well you know the rest.

Bring it!

Tony’s workouts have made a difference in the lives of countless people across the world.

The exercises make use of your body and mother earth.

p90x3 Base Workout Kit

Check out what other people are saying on Amazon about it:

I work my butt off in 30 minutes doing these workouts. I’ve also lost weight and see a noticeable difference in only 4 short weeks.

Perfect Workout

fabulous! t25 vs. p90x3 vs p90x vs insanity – if i had only one, would be p90x3

P90x3 has over 325 reviews on Amazon with 4.5 out of 5 star average!

Check out the reviews and jump into the Tony Horton’s P90X3 Base Kit – DVD Workout

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/review-tony-horton-p90x3/feed/ 0
Can this Organic Protein supplement work with p90x and p90x3? http://doobareviews.com/p90x-protien-suppliment/ http://doobareviews.com/p90x-protien-suppliment/#comments Mon, 30 Jun 2014 22:09:15 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1339 More and more people want a great protein supplement but one that doesn’t have harmful chemicals, additives including creatine.

P90x, P90x2 and P90x3 all recommend that you use a supplement to help provide the fuel that your muscles need. The workouts have their recommended supplements, but those supplements might not be the best fit for everyone.

What if you want an organic supplement?

You may be looking for a simple supplement without all the add ons, just a simple protein shake.

Just a little bit of research online shows the potential dangers of using a protein drink that has shall we say nasty ingredients. See the Mercola whey protein article on why organic whey is one of the best ways to go to miss out on the harmful chemicals and additives in other protein drinks.

You can buy an organic whey mix right there (they have a special mix), or you can order direct from the manufacturer Defense Nutrition and get the plain mix.

We get our assortment of whey protein drinks right from the manufacturer to save a few bucks, but it’s worth checking out the Mercola site to see if their special mix is right for you.

If you order from the manufacturer (Defense Nutrition), know that they often run sales around holidays. It’s a great time to stock up.

warrior-whey-protein

Our favorite flavors are Vanilla, Strawberry, Banana (Turmeric is used as the coloring agent in the Banana flavor ain’t that cool?), and chocolate.

Can an organic supplement without all the other chemicals work?

Yes. In our research (you know, online searching, but also by listening to doctor advice), organic whey is absorbed better and faster by the body than other supplements.

The added ingredients of other supplements can actually harm your body in the long run.

The beauty of the Warrior Whey is in its simplicity. It’s good ol’ protein, the whey it should be (couldn’t resist).

So, if you’re working out with Tony Horton, and your friends call you an organic hippy nut (ahem, never happened here) and you want a high quality protein drink mix, check out the Defense Nutrition Warrior Whey.

If you haven’t selected which p90x program you want, I highly recommend the new p90x3.

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/p90x-protien-suppliment/feed/ 0
Can you do P90x3 with Three Broken Toes? http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-with-broken-toes/ http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-with-broken-toes/#comments Tue, 13 May 2014 23:36:59 +0000 http://doobareviews.com/?p=1336 Foot X-RayI had them. Yes that’s right. Three broken toes.

I’d like to say that I broke them doing something cool like skydiving, but no, the tale is much more mundane.

I stubbed them.

Whoever made walls and table legs so hard…

Anyway, after covering the corners in the house and the legs of my desk with soft, cushy foam (or maybe after just deciding to wear shoes a little more around the house, I decided to give my toes  a break.

There was just one problem…

Well, one problem among many:

I was committed to my P90x3 routine and didn’t want to stop.

I’m “tough” so I didn’t go to the doctor. Stubborn might be a better word for it…or stupid.

I didn’t exercise the following day, but I wondered how long I’d have to wait to exercise again. I wanted to reach my exercise goals.

I like the schedule that X3 instruction book gives, and I wanted to keep following that, but I started out easy (with the Yoga or Pilates if I remember right), and hey, my toes held up.

Secret was to Modify

I started the other routines in the workout and modified.

If there was running or jumping, I’d work on abs or skip or modify the parts that would put too much pressure on the toes.

I was careful not to over do it, but it worked, and the toes eventually healed.

Of course I had to look up how dangerous an inappropriate healing of a broken bone could be, so go see your doctor if you have a broken or think you’ve broken a bone, but broken bones and all, I was able to do P90X3, and I love it!

p90x3 Base Workout Kit

p90x3 Workout Kit

I’m glad I had P90x3 compared to other workout DVD’s because it has such a variety of workouts. That variety let me modify when necessary (and it was necessary those first few days).

I guess it’s a testament to how much people really like P90x3 that me, not a particularly sporty or active person didn’t not want to miss out on the P90x3 schedule.

It’s part of the magic. There’s a deadline. Only 90 days, and you want to pack it in as much as you can by following the program.

Toes feeling good?

Even if you’re toes aren’t feeling 100% today, check out P90x3.

I had started with Power90 when I was afraid that P90x would be too much for me. Power90 was a little too easy. P90x is intense and the workouts can stretch out to over an hour.

P90x3 is my favorite so far because it’s only 30 minutes a day, and the exercises are “smart” exercises that work the body really well.

But as I mentioned, you can modify and still keep up and enjoy the workouts.

If you’re interested in P90 or P90x check out my review of P90x3.

]]>
http://doobareviews.com/p90x3-with-broken-toes/feed/ 0